6 Rhode Island towns vote ‘no’ for marijuana retail sales

This is a file picture of cannabis at a dispensary. (Seth Wenig, AP)

BARRINGTON, R.I. (WLNE)– Rhode Island homeowners in 31 cities and towns voted Tuesday on whether to authorize leisure cannabis sales.

6 towns turned down tally procedures for leisure cannabis sales, consisting of Barrington, East Greenwich, Jamestown, Little Compton, Scituate, and Smithfield.

Marijuana sellers will now be prohibited in those neighborhoods.

In May, Gov. Dan McKee signed into law the Rhode Island Marijuana Act, making the state the 19th to legislate leisure adult-use marijuana

Neighborhoods that authorized marijuana retail sales, consist of: Bristol, Burrillville, Charlestown, Coventry, Cumberland, East Providence, Glocester, Hopkinton, Johnston, Lincoln, Middletown, Narragansett, New Shoreham, Newport, North Kingstown, North Providence, North Smithfield, Richmond, South Kingstown, Tiverton, Warren, West Greenwich, West Warwick, Westerly, and Woonsocket.

Leisure sales at existing medical cannabis dispensaries will begin on Dec. 1.